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Garbage and Recycling

This guide contains answers to the
most frequently asked questions from
customers of privately owned garbage
and recycling companies, which

are regulated by the Utilities and
Transportation Commission.

Please note: If your garbage and
recycling services are provided by city
employees or by a company under
contract with a city or county, this
guide does not apply. Instead, you
should contact your city or county’s
solid waste department for assistance.

Here’s some quick history. In
Washington, solid waste and recycling
collection has
long been

a regulated
“monopoly”
industry.
Before 1961,
this industry
could choose
to serve only
the most
lucrative
markets,
leaving some
unincorporated counties without solid
waste collection services, or paying
much higher charges than in other
markets.




The state Legislature stepped in

and created exclusive solid waste
territories so that all customers
would receive basic solid waste
services. There were two reasons

for this decision: to create universal
garbage service for all customers;
and to enhance safety by limiting the
number of garbage trucks driving in
residential areas and on the roads.

The commission’s role is to regulate
service and rates for privately-owned
garbage and recycling companies.

For a list of regulated companies in
Washington, please visit
www.utc.wa.gov/solidwaste.

Questions and Answers About
Your Services

Can a solid waste company refuse
to provide me service?

Yes. A solid waste company may
refuse to provide service for any of
the following reasons:

* When you do not meet state,
county or municipal laws
concerning solid waste services,
for example, not using a proper
solid waste container.

* When conditions at your site are
deemed by the company to be



hazardous or impractical. This
can include everything from
insufficient truck access, to bad
roads and weather, to dangerous
animals, to a garbage can that
exceeds the allowable weight.

* When your payment is overdue
with the company for the same
type of service at the same or a
different address.

* When someone else currently
living with you has an overdue
bill with the company; has not
made satisfactory arrangements
for payment of the overdue bill;
and the company has objective
evidence that you are helping the
prior customer to avoid payment.

» If you deceptively obtained
service.

A company cannot refuse service if
the people who lived there before you
left with an unpaid bill.

Can the company skip a pickup due
to poor weather conditions?

Yes, but you can set the missed
garbage out for the next regularly
scheduled pick up at no extra cost.



Does the company have the right
to discontinue my service if | don’t
pay my bill on time?

Yes. You may lose service if you fail
to pay your bill or make payment
arrangements, or if you have violated
the rules or service agreements agreed
upon at the time you began service.

Will | receive notice before
discontinuance of my garbage
service?

Yes. The company must mail a written
notice to your address before it can
discontinue garbage or recycling
pickup. The company must wait eight
business days following the mailing
before stopping service if the notice
was mailed from within Washington,
11 business days if mailed from
outside Washington. The company
also must make an attempt to contact
you no later than 24 hours before

the stoppage date on the written
notice. The company must try either
by two phone calls, or a notice on
your container or door. If you do

not feel you were properly notified,
ask to speak with a supervisor at the
company. If you are still not satisfied,
call the commission’s Consumer
Protection Help Line toll-free at
1-888-333-WUTC (9882).



How do | make a complaint against
my garbage company?

Contact the company first and
attempt to resolve the complaint. If
the company representative is unable
to resolve your dispute, ask to speak
with a supervisor. If, after speaking
with the supervisor, you are still
dissatisfied; call the commission.
You may file a complaint by calling
the commission’s toll-free Consumer
Help Line at 1-888-333-WUTC (9882)
or consumer@utc.wa.gov. Consumer
Protection staff will contact the
company on your behalf and work
with both you and the company to
attempt to resolve your dispute.




Do | have to pay a deposit for solid
waste collection service?
Homeowners and customers with
good credit records will not have to
pay a deposit. Customers without

a satisfactory credit rating might

be required to pay a deposit before
service begins. The following
examples are conditions that may
require a deposit:

* You owe an unpaid, overdue
balance to another garbage
collection company.

* You received two or more
delinquent notices from your prior
company in the previous twelve
months.

= Another occupant at your address
has an overdue bill owed to the
company.

* You lost garbage service within
the last 12 months for failure to

pay-.

How much can | expect the deposit
to be?

The amount of deposit depends on
the type of service you have and
whether the company bills monthly,
every other month, or quarterly.
Example: You sign up for one-can
weekly service. If the company’s
billed monthly rate for service is $10,
your deposit will be $20.



The deposit schedule is:

= [If the company bills monthly, your
deposit is two months estimated
service cost.

= If the company bills every other
month, your deposit is three
months of estimated service cost.

= [f the company bills quarterly,
your deposit is four months of
estimated service cost.

When will | get my deposit back?

If you pay on time for 12 consecutive
months, you will receive a full refund,
either by check or by applying the
deposit to your account balance plus
interest. Prompt payment means you
cannot have received more than two
past-due notices in the previous 12
months.

What if | am unable to pay a
deposit?

Your company must make payment
arrangements with you for the
deposit. The company must allow

the option of paying one-half of the
deposit prior to receiving service, and
paying the remaining balance of your
deposit in two equal payments over a
two month period.



Rates

How can | learn more about the
rates my company charges?
Commission-approved rates are kept
in a company’s commission-approved
plan. The plan is called a “tariff.”
This plan covers rates, services,
terms and conditions of service.
Companies’ tariffs are available on
the commission’s website, www.utc.
wa.gov. You also can contact your
company and they will send you a
copy of their tariff upon request. You
can also view a company’s tariff at
their office.

How is my garbage rate
determined?

Many factors contribute to the cost of
garbage services, including: disposal
fees; equipment costs; drivers’

wages; taxes; compliance with local
regulations; and administrative
expenses. If any of these costs change,
your company must seek approval
from the commission to change rates
and you will receive a notice of the
company’s intent to increase rates.
You will be asked to comment on the
proposed increase. This is your chance
to be involved in the commission’s
decision-making process.



How can | get more information
about a pending rate increase?
Call the commission toll-free

at 1-888-333-WUTC (9882) for
information about participating in the
commission’s rate-setting process and
information about a specific rate case.
Commission staff can place you on

a mailing list that will automatically
notify you of a public meeting
regarding the proposed increase.

How does the commission decide
whether to approve a rate change?
Commission '

staff sets all
rates based

on four basic
questions. Is the
rate fair, just,
reasonable and
sufficient? As
the commission
considers a
company request for a rate change,

it applies the four questions with
solid information, including an

audit of the company’s expenses and
consideration of all public comments
about the proposed rate increase.
Following this review, staff makes a
recommendation to the three-member
commission at a public meeting at
which customers may also speak
about the proposal. The commission




may approve changes proposed by the
company, grant lower or higher rates
than requested, or postpone the rate
increase for further investigation.

What information should be on my
bill?
All solid waste bills must show:

= The billing period;

* The mailing date, due date and
when the bill becomes delinquent;

* The company name, address and
telephone number;

* The amount and percentage of
each tax or fee;

» Each service listed as a separate
line item;

» The total amount due; and

= A late payment fee, if applicable.

Can the company assess a late
payment charge?

Yes, if the company has a late
payment charge in its tariff.

How can | lower my garbage bill?
Contact your company to determine
what service level options are
available. By recycling, you may be
able to reduce your garbage amount
and move to a smaller container. To
find out more about recycling options,
contact your company or you may call
the Washington State Department of
Ecology at 1-800-RECYCLE
(1-800-732-9253).
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How can | get rid of household
hazardous waste?

Contact your county for assistance.
Many times they will accept solvents,
unused paint, concrete and acids at
different disposal sites. Do not put
hazardous waste in with your regular
garbage. There are special handling
standards for the collection and
disposal of these materials in federal,
state and local rules.
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Contact the Commission

Consumer Help Line
1-888-333-WUTC (9882) toll free
consumer@utc.wa.gov

General Information
(360) 664-1160
info@utc.wa.gov

www.utc.wa.gov

1300 S. Evergreen Park Drive SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

To request this document in alternative
formats to accommodate persons with
disabilities, please call (360) 664-1132 or
TTY 1-800-416-5989.
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